Prices read on November 2, 2026
AI receptionist cost per call calculator
AI receptionists price in different ways: by the minute, the call, the customer, or as an add-on. Enter your own calls and we work out the full monthly bill on each public price list, with the cheapest plan that works and any overage, then divide by your calls. The method is the one in our article, What does an AI receptionist cost per call?
A disclosure. We build Zalena, which sells an AI receptionist and charges by the minute. We have kept it out of the vendor tables and shown it separately below, with the same arithmetic. The vendors are listed alphabetically. This compares cost, not quality, and it is not a ranking. Nothing you type leaves your browser.
Showing 200 calls a month of 3 minutes (600 minutes), and 200 calls in your busiest month.
Your normal month
| Vendor | Monthly bill | Cost per call | Plan we priced |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dialzarabills by the minute | US$239 | US$1.20 | Business Plus500 minutes included, plus 100 minutes at US$0.40 each |
| Goodcallbills by the customer | US$129 | US$0.65 | Growth500 customers included; you use 200 customers |
| Jobber add-onbills by the conversation | US$163.30 | US$0.82 | Receptionist add-on30 conversations included, plus 170 conversations at US$0.79 each |
| Rosiebills by the minute | US$149 | US$0.75 | Scale1,000 minutes included; you use 600 minutes |
| Smith.ai AIbills by the call | US$385 | US$1.93 | Pro, 150 calls150 calls included, plus 50 calls at US$2.30 each |
| Upfirstbills by the call | US$159.95 | US$0.80 | Pro300 calls included; you use 200 calls |
Your busiest month
We assume you stay on one plan, so the busiest month is priced on the plan chosen for a normal month, with that plan's overage. Where moving up would cost less that month, the note says so.
| Vendor | Monthly bill | Cost per call | Plan | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dialzarabills by the minute | US$239 | US$1.20 | Business Plus500 minutes included, plus 100 minutes at US$0.40 each | Same plan, no change needed. |
| Goodcallbills by the customer | US$129 | US$0.65 | Growth500 customers included; you use 200 customers | Same plan, no change needed. |
| Jobber add-onbills by the conversation | US$163.30 | US$0.82 | Receptionist add-on30 conversations included, plus 170 conversations at US$0.79 each | Same plan, no change needed. |
| Rosiebills by the minute | US$149 | US$0.75 | Scale1,000 minutes included; you use 600 minutes | Same plan, no change needed. |
| Smith.ai AIbills by the call | US$385 | US$1.93 | Pro, 150 calls150 calls included, plus 50 calls at US$2.30 each | Same plan, no change needed. |
| Upfirstbills by the call | US$159.95 | US$0.80 | Pro300 calls included; you use 200 calls | Same plan, no change needed. |
Zalena, our own prices
We build Zalena, so it is kept out of the tables above and shown here with the same arithmetic, in Canadian dollars because that is how we bill. Every plan is shown, including the ones that do not work at your volume. A plan that hits its cap sends calls to your own phone, so it gets no cost per call.
One difference matters: Answer takes booking requests for you to confirm, while Book and Team put appointments straight into the calendar. If you need live booking, skip Answer.
| Plan | Monthly bill | Cost per call | Calls that ring your phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| AnswerTakes booking requests you confirmHits its cap: 39 calls ring your phone | CA$148.90 at the cap (about US$107)150 minutes included, plus 333 extra at CA$0.30, the most this plan bills | None quoted: not every call was answered | 39 calls ring your phone |
| BookBooks straight into your calendar | CA$174 (about US$125)500 minutes included, plus 100 extra at CA$0.25 | CA$0.87 (about US$0.62) | None |
| TeamBooks straight into your calendar | CA$299 (about US$214)1,200 minutes included; you use 600 | CA$1.50 (about US$1.07) | None |
For reference: a human receptionist
Human answering services run about US$7 to US$10 a call. Smith.ai's human receptionists cost that within plan, and Ruby's plans come to about the same at its own 2-minute typical call.
How each vendor is priced
Prices read on November 2, 2026 from each vendor's own page, in US dollars, monthly billing, before tax. Each figure rests on these assumptions. Where a vendor's pages do not say what happens, we say so rather than guess.
Dialzara (bills by the minute)
- Dialzara bills live talk time to the second, so minutes are your calls times your average call length.
- Extra minutes are priced at the plan rate. They are only billed when auto-recharge is on or you buy minutes. Otherwise, at zero balance, callers go to voicemail.
- The Done for You plan (from $1,500 a month) is priced on request and is not included.
- Annual prices are not stated. Contact the vendor.
Source: https://www.dialzara.com/pricing, read on November 2, 2026
Goodcall (bills by the customer)
- Goodcall bills unique customers, one phone number once a month, and never meters minutes.
- We assume every call comes from a different person, which is the worst case for Goodcall. Repeat callers bring the bill down.
- Past the included customers, each extra one is billed at the plan rate: 79 cents on Starter, 26 cents on Growth, 15 cents on Scale.
- Above 2,000 customers a month Goodcall offers an Enterprise plan with volume pricing on request. We price that volume on Scale with overage. Contact the vendor.
- Setup fee and annual pricing are not stated.
Source: https://www.goodcall.com/pricing, read on November 2, 2026
Jobber add-on (bills by the conversation)
- One conversation per call.
- The add-on sits on top of the Jobber subscription, which you pay for separately and is not included here.
- Jobber's Plus plan includes the receptionist with unlimited use. We have not priced Plus here.
- Which Jobber plans can add it is not stated. Contact the vendor.
Source: https://help.getjobber.com/hc/en-us/articles/25315927533847-Receptionist-powered-by-Jobber-AI, read on November 2, 2026
Rosie (bills by the minute)
- Rosie has no per-minute overage. Past your plan's minutes, its terms say it moves you up to a higher plan, and you stay there until you downgrade.
- Rosie rounds every call up to the next full minute, so a 90-second call bills as 2 minutes. We use your average call length as it is, so your real bill can be higher.
- Above 2,000 minutes a month Rosie's pricing page and terms state no price. Contact the vendor.
- Annual prices are not stated in the page text. Contact the vendor.
- Whether an upgrade mid-month is charged in full or prorated is not stated. We price the full plan. Contact the vendor.
Source: https://heyrosie.com/pricing, read on November 2, 2026
Smith.ai AI (bills by the call)
- This is Smith.ai's AI receptionist, not its human service. It bills real calls answered, not minutes.
- Known spam is filtered before answering and not billed. Enter only real calls: we bill every call you enter.
- Each billing cycle you may also remove up to 10% of your calls from the bill as spam, which can only lower it.
- Above 1,000 calls a month Smith.ai quotes custom pricing. Contact the vendor.
Source: https://smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist, read on November 2, 2026
Upfirst (bills by the call)
- Upfirst bills calls. Spam, robocalls, calls under 15 seconds and calls where the caller never speaks are not billed. Enter only real calls: we bill every call you enter.
- One agent. Each additional agent costs $9.95 a month.
- Above 600 calls a month Upfirst offers custom pricing on request. We price that volume on Scale with overage. Contact the vendor.
Source: https://upfirst.ai/pricing, read on November 2, 2026
How Zalena is priced
- Zalena bills minutes. Minutes are your calls times your average call length, rounded up once for the month. Calls under 15 seconds are not counted; we count every call you enter.
- Extra minutes are billed at the end of the month, up to a cap: the price difference to the next plan (on Team, its own price again).
- Past the cap, new calls ring your own phone until your minutes start again or you move up a plan. A call in progress is never cut off. A plan that hits the cap shows the calls that would ring your phone, and no cost per call.
- Answer takes booking requests for you to confirm. Book and Team put appointments straight into the calendar.
- Prices are in Canadian dollars, plus tax. US dollar figures are rough and move with the exchange rate.
US dollar figures for Zalena use the Bank of Canada rate of CA$1.396 to US$1 on October 30, 2026. The rate moves, so treat them as rough. Our prices are on the pricing page.
Prices read on November 2, 2026. Plans change, so check the current price with each vendor before you decide. Product names are trademarks of their owners, used here only to name the products. Cost per call is a way to compare quotes, not the decision: test a product on your own calls before you commit.
The method, worked through with real examples: What does an AI receptionist cost per call? How to compare any quote.